Volume XVII; Page 1/366 | fromtheheart x

I look at the New Year and what I see is joy. All odds against me, I begin the year knowing that I am on a road leading Home. Knowing that I am loved, that I am empowered to succeed because God is on my side; He is for me. In the present as I write this, I feel light. I’m filled with joy because He lives, because I am the daughter of the King of Kings.

I know it will not be an easy year, nor will it be a smooth one. I will come across challenges in my faith, in my relationships, in my family, with my friends, in my academics and extra-curriculars, but I step into 2016 knowing that I am blessed, I am loved, and He has it under control. I am held by my Maker, my Best Friend, Dad, Healer, my Strength.

This post is a letter to me. A letter to who I become throughout this year, to who I will grow into. This is what I want myself to know, and for all you young people of God, this is for you too.

//

  1. You belong to Him.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

– John 14:1-4

Our world is temporary, it will not last forever. Take heart in the fact that He is coming back for YOU. You are more than what you make yourself to be, you are better than what the world says you are. You are worth the suffering He endured because He loves you. One day you will understand why He has done what He has done and why He has allowed things to happen. It is all so He can do His work in you, so take heart and ‘do not let your heart be troubled’, because you will be united with Him and have praise parties all day long. He has called you for a unique purpose, for something so everlasting and so great, all because He has that relationship with you.

     2.  Look UP.

“But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

– Matthew 6:19-21

There is more to it than the materialistic findings we settle for here on earth. Remember why you do what you do, remember that it is for His glory alone. You are in a union with God, His gifts are your talents, talents that He wants you to invest in and create treasures to be stored in heaven. It is not just Him working, neither is it just you. It is you together.

“A musician and an instrument unite to produce sounds which neither would produce without the other… Like an instrument maker with his cherished instrument, our Maker longs to blend his ability with ours to produce unique sounds to bless the world.” – Grantley Morris

It is okay to fail, it is fine not to achieve something you wanted so badly. God has something better for you. To store your treasures would be to give everything of importance and of meaning to God, because therein lies the surety that these things, be it relationships, family, your ministry, will last.

3.  Yes | Wait | No, I Have Something Better.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.” 

– Proverbs 3:5-6

You know how His answers work. The focus on this point isn’t what His answer is, but rather how He brings about these answers. A good friend of mine once told me that sometimes God doesn’t do things the way you expect Him to. He does them better. He uses the people in your life to teach you things He needs you to learn, and He sometimes brings you your answer through someone you least expected to understand you situation. Have an open heart and remember God wants only the best for you. He loves you! He chose you. You don’t understand why He has done what He has done, or why He has allowed things to happen, but trust Him and praise Him always. He will bless you for your faithfulness. #faithoverfeelings

4.  Road of Recognition

How do you know if it is His voice you are hearing? Knowing your Bible and keeping a constant connection with Him is one way, yes. But remember one thing: You will not be able to hear Him if the only thing you want to listen to is your own voice. And sometimes, the last thing you want to hear is the very thing you need to hear. Open your heart. Break down before Him and let Him heal all your cracks, because you know that the first thing He will tell you is, “You’re going to be okay.” If you’re feeling out of it right now, go worship. Put everything else down, and worship.

//

2016. Here’s to me, here’s to you, here’s to Christ who loves us.

“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

– Romans 8:31-39

Leave a Reply

